Free Or Cheap, No Bar-To-Entry Law School

While I’ve worked in education, I’ve never been formally employed at a university. I received free ministerial ordination through an organization unaffiliated with any faith tradition. After following Josh Kaufman’s Personal MBA blog for years and later reading his book of the same name, it occurred to me that there isn’t much reason not to apply more-or-less the same idea to many other things. But this is especially true of law.

Every US citizen has a duty to be well informed about their country and its law. American law schools are in the powerful position of gatekeeper, barring The People from understanding or participating in a system over which every citizen is technically a co-sovereign.

After some research, I find no actual “law school” dedicated to addressing this. While colleges and universities offer free or inexpensive online courses, perhaps most notably MIT and Hillsdale College, renowned and even merely accredited law schools have a financial interest in limiting access to their programs to maintain their value. The exact opposite is true of institutions with little or no existing reputation for or investment in for-profit legal scholarship. Furthermore, a free and universally open law school would pave the way for the poorest students, native speakers of other languages, single parents, the disabled and so many others who dream of law school but must deal with difficult life circumstances preventing them from pursuing traditional law school.

Do you agree with me? Are you interested in working on this? Are you a Constitution-minded activist, professor, attorney, philosopher of law, judge, seasoned law enforcement officer, legislator or someone with something to teach? Do you work for a college or university that you believe should offer something like this? If your answer is “yes” to any these questions, please respond. I’ll reach back out to you and we can start organizing a more formal working group.

If you found this interesting, my first recommended “course content” links from my next article, “Never Talk To Police.”

By Vérité

I’ve left traditional employment for a few months to focus on my family following the recent loss of my wife and my second granddaughter when my wife’s airplane crashed on 6/17/21 (see https://www.abc4.com/news/local-news/small-plane-crashes-in-tooele-county-2-dead/). I’m also producing content. If you want to support what I do or want to donate to our family, let me know and I’ll something that up. I’m so many things but the most important things are 1) a christian, 2) a father & grandfather, 3) the widower of the most amazing woman I ever met, 4) a patriot and Army veteran (MOS 98C), 5) a teacher of SO many things (a tutor, a STEM teacher in traditional classrooms before such a thing had a name, a corporate technology trainer, the K-8 home schooling parent of my kids while my wife was stationed overseas, a museum docent, a history, archeology and paleontology tour guide at two sites, and simply a perpetual student), 6) an HKN engineer (AKA a science, math and tech nerd who created a massive military community website as a volunteer), 7) a caregiver, 8) a certified optician, 9) a lifetime woodworker, 10) a recipe inventor and publisher, 11) an actor, singer, poet and dabbler in most every art I meet, 12) a hobbyist historian (and the victim of an AP art history class that led me to believe I wanted to be a renaissance man when I grew up (which I really never did), and 13) still silly enough to have earned a B.A. in psychology! If I had to pick exactly one self-definition it would be "loving God by loving people." I just wish I was a whole lot better at it!

2 comments

Leave a comment