DOWNTIME

Vérité 5/16/2022 My late wife lived outdoors and off the land as much as possible—year round—that’s tough here in Montana. She preferred her cowhide-bound Bible (and all her other books to be hard copies)—it was very few Kindle ebooks for her. She stubbornly stuck with her paper and pens for the important stuff long after everyone else had happily adapted to word processors, email, text messaging and smartphone cameras. She cooked over her campfires, truly despising microwave ovens. She used backpacks to haul her gear and justifiably blamed ATVs for making many of her fellow outdoorsmen weak and flabby. She realized that so much of our world depends on its infrastructure and often lamented our collective dependence on all this expensive and vulnerable “cargo,” (a word she borrowed from the book “Guns, Germs, and Steel,” by Jared Diamond who had himself related it from Yali, a Papua New Guinean coastwatcher, politician, soldier, policeman, activist and prisoner). Now I’m thinking about how to best build OFFLINE scalable communities to start moving toward a world if not beyond today’s “technomania,” at least robust enough to survive should the technology fail.

I believe we need to do this both as a matter of sustainability and as a hedge against surviving any number of natural or manmade catastrophes. Right now I’m using the working name DOWNTIME as a loose reference to both the Australian aboriginal “dreamtime” and the common business idea of downtime procedures which keep things running if the data system becomes unavailable. If you are interested in collaborating, I’d first recommend printing this article (maybe single sided or double spaced so you can take notes). Next, comment and repost at the social media site where you found this.

By Vérité

I’ve left traditional employment for a few months to focus on my family following the recent loss of my wife and my second granddaughter when my wife’s airplane crashed on 6/17/21 (see https://www.abc4.com/news/local-news/small-plane-crashes-in-tooele-county-2-dead/). I’m also producing content. If you want to support what I do or want to donate to our family, let me know and I’ll something that up. I’m so many things but the most important things are 1) a christian, 2) a father & grandfather, 3) the widower of the most amazing woman I ever met, 4) a patriot and Army veteran (MOS 98C), 5) a teacher of SO many things (a tutor, a STEM teacher in traditional classrooms before such a thing had a name, a corporate technology trainer, the K-8 home schooling parent of my kids while my wife was stationed overseas, a museum docent, a history, archeology and paleontology tour guide at two sites, and simply a perpetual student), 6) an HKN engineer (AKA a science, math and tech nerd who created a massive military community website as a volunteer), 7) a caregiver, 8) a certified optician, 9) a lifetime woodworker, 10) a recipe inventor and publisher, 11) an actor, singer, poet and dabbler in most every art I meet, 12) a hobbyist historian (and the victim of an AP art history class that led me to believe I wanted to be a renaissance man when I grew up (which I really never did), and 13) still silly enough to have earned a B.A. in psychology! If I had to pick exactly one self-definition it would be "loving God by loving people." I just wish I was a whole lot better at it!

2 comments

Leave a comment