Like Totally a Hawt Movie from 1983

3 comments

  1. OMG!! Is that Deborah Foreman?!?! In 1986, she was in her heyday and I was in love with her. Two years later, I actually got to be in a movie with her!

    Okay, I know that sounds ridiculous, but it’s true. After she stole my freshman-year heart in April Fool’s Day and My Chauffeur, when I was a junior, a movie was filmed in an old sugar factory in Brighton, Colorado. The film, called Destroyer, starred Anthony Perkins, Lyle Alzado, and Deborah Foreman. It was indescribably awful. My brother was the stunt coordinator, and I was credited as a “Prison Guard.” I actually had three scenes, two as a prison guard, and one where I played a dead guy whom Alzado had torched. My job was to put on some charred pants and boots and slowly pull my legs up, as if being dragged away. Only my feet were shot.

    Anyway, the real value of the experience was that I got to hang out on the set and talk to Deborah Foreman. I even got to see her in a shower scene, though I had to watch from the rafters because the director tried to clear us all out before that scene. As a sixteen year old, I was in heaven!

  2. This link substantiates the prison guard claim. Hilarious.

    Director – Quiet on the set! Cue shower. . . and . . . ACTION!. . . . . . . . . . . . . . Hey, what’s that kid doing up there in the rafters??

  3. How cool is that?! I never made it to IMDB. I would have loved to have had the chance to be the lookalike Di in “European Vacation”. Whatta hoot that’d be. But the contest here in DC wasn’t until late ’85, I got the Ron Smith Celeb. Lookalikes contract after that, and the movie was well in the can by then. Ah well. I was in a Dutch outdoor furniture commercial. Does that count? LOL

    Last gig was on an ep. of “Evening Magazine” in PA with host Ron Murray, in ’88 or ’89. Fun times!

Leave a comment